Tuesday, January 1, 2013

Happy New Year!



Happy New Year, Beloved Bookies! What are your resolutions? Are you excited for any 2013 releases? Leave a comment!

Enjoy your celebrations!  

Photobucket

Tuesday, December 25, 2012

Merry Christmas!

Merry Christmas, Bookies! I hope Santa is good to you, no matter what list you're on! ;) What's on your Christmas list? Any fun reads? How was your holiday? Leave a comment and have a very merry Christmas!

Photobucket

Friday, December 21, 2012

Happy Winter + Operation Warm


Happy Winter, Bookies! Are you excited for the season? Are you ready for the weather? Is there any upcoming winter releases you are estatic about? Leave a comment and let me know!

Do something rewarding this holiday season! Join one of my favorite charities: Opperation Warm! Help a needy child stay warm, safe, and loved this winter!



Photobucket

Saturday, December 8, 2012

Cover Reveal: The Triplex by Lola St. Vil



Guardians: The Triplex (Book 4)

The team finds the location of the Triplex. But in order to destroy it and
save the world, a horrific decision must be made. Can Marcus do what he
needs to do in order to complete the mission? Or will his heart get in the
way.
 
Author bio: Lola was seven when she first came to this country from Port-au-Prince,
Haiti. She attended Columbia College in Chicago, where her main
focus was creative writing. She is also an actress and currently lives in
Hollywood with her husband. Lola welcomes interaction with readers. She
can be found on Twitter @guardiansgirl

Wednesday, December 5, 2012

Review for The Book Thief - Markus Zusak


I know I've sworn off Ricochet Reviews quite a long time ago, but I happened to find an old one floating around in the land of Drafts.





The Book Thief
It’s just a small story really, about among other things: a girl, some words, an accordionist, some fanatical Germans, a Jewish fist-fighter, and quite a lot of thievery.
Set during World War II in Germany, Markus Zusak’s groundbreaking new novel is the story of Liesel Meminger, a foster girl living outside of Munich. Liesel scratches out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can’t resist–books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, she learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement before he is marched to Dachau.

Confessedly, there was a sunken hiatus between the aloof skim of the first few pages and when I began truly reading it. When able to devote any length of time to a book, I've always found it easy to escape into the printed page -- almost like a clumsy Alice in Wonderland rendition, falling to where ever the novel proves elsewhere, Wonderland, is. I tend to find myself unable to come up for air until sifting onto the last few pages, where I hesitate for fear of what might happen when I come to the end. Depending on the book's "level", that excitable, illogical immersion might even raise the notion of death itself.

If you have never read a book so sweetly perfect that a nonsensical sensation of fear for immanent death upon the approach of its impending ending (all the wayward, cliff-hangings, or however) overwhelms some locked away, borderline-insane, closet-fan-girl piece of you, then you are a victim of either blatant illiteracy, unjust censorship, or literary shelteredness, and whichever way you should find yourself a terribly wretched thing. But if you have, in fact, found that moment of perfection - arguably amongst the most perfect moments in a lifetime blessed with the gifts of civilization (and yes, there is a feasible cause for the dramatization of such a silent event) - then you know exactly what I'm talking about.

And then, I have to ask: Does that irrational moment become even more perplexing when you have been, seamlessly and intimately, with Death throughout the entire novel?  

Of course.

I don't recall anything so ambitious being so well-executed and effective in my literary travels, though 1894 and Wuthering Heights (or on a remotely lesser level, in an unintentional abstract way, The Hunger Games and If I Stay) fleet around the blurred edges under such criteria. It makes me wonder who ponders on something so abstract, nonetheless who so artfully captures it. Who goes there? Who goes there, and comes back?

The reader is dragged back decades, through the colors of a cruel life and the cheer of Death, into the harsh world of World War II, where a little girl, a book thief, a someone named Liesel Meminger, is suffering. From the beginning you are told her story, one Death harbors an odd fondness for, and the bloody, ashen, charcoaled colors of a short life. As the narrorator isn't one to rush (though a constant point being made in fire and ice), the reader's purpose is to patiently wait as her life is splashed across the pages in a thousand shades of red and black and white.

I'm not quite sure how to describe - no, convey what this book is. I've never read another like it. It's both abstract and clear, brutal and haunting, cold - but never nice.  It lingers. It stays and stays until you let the residue crawl from the peripheral of your thoughts to the shaking core of your cerebrum in those brief silent moments of contemplation: before you sleep, in the midst of mechanic routine, and in contrast to the blissfully unknowing life sputtering around you in spite of the thought-provoking hunger left in The Book Thief's wake. It's the kind of read where you're not here nor there because you can't be, for a murky, undescribable while.

You have to be in a meditating, artistic mood to appreciate, if not enjoy, the complex simplicity of The Book Thief. But once you're ready, you'll understand.

It's perfect.




Sunday, November 25, 2012

.99 Sale!


Something of a Kind by Miranda Wheeler
 
 
 
As a 17-year-old artist, Alyson Glass had her future mapped – she’d go to art school, study in Paris, and eventually make enough bank to support her single mother. The trouble is, things don’t always go as planned – especially a sneak attack of stage-four ovarian cancer.

Suddenly motherless and court-ordered to move in with her estranged father, Aly’s forced to leave behind her New York hometown for the oddities of Alaska. Ashland seems like cruel and unusual punishment – at least until her dad ditches her at a local restaurant and she crashes into a super-hot, guitar-playing diner-boy with a horrific home life.

Noah Locklear is used to waiting – waiting for his shift to end, waiting until his drunkard parents go to bed, and waiting for the day he can get his sister away from their dysfunctional family. The summer before senior year, the elusive researchers that ruthlessly pry into Ashland’s history shatter a final cord with Noah’s abusive father, one of the town’s elders. Unfortunately, as far as his parents are concerned, the new girl who’s changing everything belongs to the outsiders. With their relationship increasingly forbidden, the struggle of knowing who to trust reveals that nothing is what it seems.

As Aly encourages Noah to investigate the legends he’d always written off as stories, they uncover the one thing their fathers can agree on: there’s something in the woods.
 
 
 

Thursday, November 22, 2012

Happy Thanksgiving!


Happy Thanksgiving, Bookies! (For the US, at least. I know I seem like I'm a month behind to my beloved Canadian bookies.) What are you thankful for? Leave a comment!

Have a lovely "turkey day" with your lovely families! :)

Photobucket

Sunday, November 11, 2012

Honoring Veteran's Day


Ricochet Reviews is honoring Veteran's Day, today.

For those of you in the US: how are you honoring our servicemen and -women today? What are you reading on your day off? Leave a comment!

Want to do more? Check out one of my absolute favorite charities, HeroBox!



Photobucket

Sunday, November 4, 2012

Daylight Savings Time


What's the best way to re-adjust to the abhorred Daylight Savings Time? A night-owl, book-worm, late all-nighter reading season, of course! What are you reading? Have a better tip? Let me know! Leave a comment!
Photobucket

Wednesday, October 31, 2012

Happy Halloween


Happy Halloween, Bookies! What's going to scare you tonight? Trick or treating? A wicked party? A creepy read? What is your official Halloween book of 2012? Leave a comment and give me details --give me titles! :)

Photobucket

Saturday, September 22, 2012

Autumn Releases


Happy Autumn, Bookies! Are you ready for another season? Are you missing summer already - or happy for fall? Here in New England (a region in the northwestern area of the United States, for my beloved bookies abroad), we are definitely ready for harvest holidays, hoodies and sweaters, crisp air, bonfires, and an assortment of golden, red, and orange leaves! How do you spend the season where you live? And with every upcoming season, comes upcoming releases!  What debuts (or installments) are you looking forward to? Is there anything swoon-worthy on your wish list? Photobucket

Thursday, September 6, 2012

Back To School


For those of you still attending: Happy Back-To-School! Did you get any reading done this summer? How was your reading list? Any fun lit or creative writing classes on the horizon? What books are in your bag? Any new releases for the locker or dorm? Leave a comment, and have an awesome first day!
Photobucket

Monday, September 3, 2012

A YA Labor Day!


Happy Labor Day, Bookies! What are you reading on your day off? If you could have any job from any book, what would it be?

Here's my answer:

I can't choose! Maybe Brynn's (from Raised by Wolves by Jennifer Lynn Barnes) job as the human werewolf pack-leader! That's a job, right? Or Evie's (from Paranormalcy by Kiersten White) wild career at the International Paranormal Containment Agency. Then again, Lucy (from Awaken by Sarah Ross) has a pretty cool afterlife as a Patronus. Maybe being like Clary (from the Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare), who rocks as an epic demon-huntress would be okay - if there was another Jace promised in the description.

Clearly, I'm nondiscriminatory - or indecisive, anyway. RR wants to know what your answer is! Name the character, the job, the book, and why! Leave a comment!


 AwakenParanormalcyRaised by Wolves (Raised by Wolves, #1)City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments, #1)


Photobucket

Saturday, August 18, 2012

Last Post... New Blog!





I know, I know - I said the very last came in July - but this is the one (I promise, this time!).

Because Ricochet Reviews is closing, I wanted to quickly let everyone know that it's not the end of my blogging days! With my new site, I transition from reviewer to author - and it's very exciting! Check it out not only for updates in my reading travels (interviews and reviewers, here and there, as well) but also to have access to the (upcoming) previews of my (upcoming) novel Something Of A Kind, be the first to know the juicy release details, and also content on writing, indie publishing, and tons more!

Again, thank you to everyone who encouraged Ricochet Reviews. As sad as I am, I'm also elated to be exploring and discovering other pieces of the bookie world. I hope you'll join me at the new address!

In the meantime, you can check out Something Of A Kind on Goodreads and Facebook to see what I keep going on and on about! :)

Happy reading!

With love,




P. S. For those on the mailing list or other external feed readers, more information about the move and the close are available on the main blog, both in sidebars and "About Me" sections.

Saturday, July 28, 2012

Review: Wings of Arian

wingsarian2 2 e1331535599684 Wings of Arian Blog Tour
Wings of Arian by Devri Walls
Expected Pub: May 2012 by StoneHouse Ink
Kiora thought she had never heard a lie until she was sixteen. But she was wrong. Her entire existence was based on nothing but. She thought that evil did not exist. Lie. That magic was not real. Lie. And that the land of Meros was all there was. One more lie.
With Aleric telling her that evil is knocking on the door and that she is the only one who can stop them she has a choice to make. Refuse, or start the wildest most painful ride of her life. She reluctantly dips her toe into her new existence of magic and threads, dragons and shapeshifters, and the person who wants to take control of it all: the evil Dralazar. However, this journey was never meant to be hers alone. She will be accompanied by a Protector. To her disbelief, and utter irritation they name the hotheaded, stubborn, non -magical, (albeit gorgeous) Prince Emane. They will have to trust each other with their lives, but right now Kiora would settle for a non hostile conversation. And now it comes down to this, If you had never heard a lie, would you know when you heard one? Is knowing good from evil innate? Kiora finds herself having to decide who lives and who dies on those very questions.

Find Devri Walls:
TwitterFBWebsiteGoodreads

5768569 Wings of Arian Blog Tour Devri Walls: lives in Kuna Idaho with her husband and two kids. She has worked as music teacher and currently, a preschool teacher. She majored in theater and her love of a story still drives her today. Thankfully, she has finally found an outlet for all the voices in her head. Her first novel, Wings of Arian, will be released on Amazon May of 2012. Find her on Twitter, Facebook or on her blog; www.writingmyfuture.com






 
Between the gorgeous cover and the intriguing blurb, I was excited to read Wings of Arian. I’m not personally drawn to the angel concept when selecting a new read, but the complete fantasy twist made it interesting. It’s pretty out-there. I loved that it was unique and creative. There’s an art in being strange enough to avoid cliché while still feeling very natural, and it dropped in throughout the entire book rather than awkwardly perching in chunky world building. You’d think having a piece’s oddity being vagueness itself would be a bad thing, but I think it actually worked here. It didn’t feel necessary to get caught up in the little things.

This is a perfect example of escapism – something to get lost in without thinking about it. I think every girl wants something to happen or someone to swoop in and say that their mundane, humdrum life is a front for something exciting and wild. Even if the heroine’s life was interesting to begin with, it’s still a total parallel to that wistful-gaze-in-the-distance-care-to-the-wind type of daydream. I also admired that everything didn’t have to be so easy for the character, especially with the plot being established in such a straight-forward way. It’s a uniquely classic-prophecy concept, which is always enjoyable and entertaining. When I thought I knew where it was going, the story sort of flinched in the other direction. It wasn’t predictable, nor uneventful or anticlimactic, an avoidance that always passes with flying colors. I always love the good-versus-evil theme, and it managed to through in the maintaining of innocence and the impending threat, all wrapped up in a sweet love story. I appreciated that how genuine each of the characters were, evoking the rare and evasive trait of the reader’s sympathy. They were fascinating and distinct, some clever, others funny, many both. It was interesting how perfectly their names fit them, despite being so odd at first.
From the intriguing relationships between characters right down each character’s mannerisms, there was a bold sense of reality in it, even with this estranged magical existence. It’s definitely one of those books that you feel like you’re watching rather than reading: visual, flowing, seamless cuts between scenes, classic set-up, authentic to the genre. It’s hard to explain – I haven’t read many things like it. It’s like a warped cross between The Blood Chronicles by Elizabeth Lorraine, Awaken by Sarah Ross, Tree of Life by Elita Daniels, Eragon by Christopher Paolini, and then… I don’t know, an almost Twilight-ish Harry Potter-esque Lord of the Rings meets a teenage version of Avatar? It’s all over the place, but very much it’s own, not fitting anything but working through everything. There are a lot of pieces of it that remind me of books across the board, plunging in and out of various genres. Perhaps there’s something for everyone inside this book. It’s peculiar, in a curiously good way.
At times the writing switched a little too rapidly between a formalistic, ‘old-fashion’ style and modern phrases or euphemisms. Much of the piece felt overwhelmed with adjectives and adverbs. I personally found both observations distracting, but overall I enjoyed the book. It’s a classic piece of fun, quick-read indie YA. Highly recommended :)
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...